Recovery in Rediscovery

Lyrics of the day: Coming out of my cage, and I’ll be doing just fine – Mr Brightside by The Killers

Dear readers

If you don’t know what it’s like to be depressed then let me tell you there are days where I can be happy and yet by nightfall all hope and motivation has left my system with no prospects of returning.

But I have a little trick that helps. Well, the clue is in the title really.
One of my favourite things to do is to rediscover something that I used to absolutely love but somehow left behind like that perfect wave that you surfed before moving onto other beaches.

At which point in life do we only listen to music through the confines of earphones? Do you remember what it’s like to play music out loud and just let the bass fill you up and the treble move you along?

The other night I was rediscovering my favourite band, 30 Seconds to Mars, listening to their first album, trying to forget their most recent masterpieces and just playing the songs that I first heard by them, remembering what it was like to be 14 year old me, remembering what made me love them so much. It’s a unique feeling, like travelling back in time without the need of a time machine. I was able to relive some good memories without the bitterness of nostalgia.

So there I was, in my room at about midnight, head-banging, air-guitaring and singing to a world half asleep, when suddenly I felt the urge for salsa dancing.

A lot of people (mostly my mum and my cousins) who have seen me dance always ask why I do not do so more often, and in public. My mum once kindly told me “I love seeing you dance. You look so beautiful.”
My reply is always the same, “I’m shy.” Or “I’m not in the mood” but truth be told, it’s just because dancing is something I enjoy most when I do it alone, with eyes closed, performing to a world unaware. Because some joys in life aren’t to be shared, and why should other presences be required in order for us to have fun? So that night I also rediscovered my passion for Latin music and dancing alone, which I did for the next 4 hours. Of course I had to wake up early the next day, and going to bed at 5 in the morning is not the wisest thing to do, but happiness is not something we should ever put on hold.

Dancing alone Dancing alone 2

If you wake up at 2 in the morning and feel like some Chinese food would be just right, then why not? Allow yourself the priviledge.

For me personally, the best joys in life are the things that require only my body and mind. Dancing, singing, writing, boxing and swimming. Sometimes I find the best thing to do is to abdicate these things for a short while just so I can randomly go back to it on my dark days and remember what it’s like to feel truly happy without any complication. Without setbacks such as lack of money.

My point is, when was the last time YOU did something for the pure fun of it? And I don’t mean going to the cinema to watch a good film. No, something that doesn’t need to be paid for. Something you can do with yourself.
You used to play an instrument as a child? Well go did up that guitar and remind yourself why you bought it in the first place.
You used to dream of being a footballer? Make time to feel like one, even if you’re just playing One Touch by yourself in the garden.
You used to play consoles ‘til morning before you got a job? Well what the hell, bring out the good old PS2 and complete those games from back in 2004.
Do something that you used to love, that you haven’t done in ages, whether it’s due to lack of time. or acquiring new responsibilities or growing up. Because why does growing up have to be synonymous of boredom?

It’s not enough to just be alive, you have to live every once in a while. All we need is a little passion.

So go. Rediscover music. Rediscover places. Rediscover yourself. You won’t regret it.

With all my love

Alice

Leave a Reply

