The Wind

The time it takes to smoke a cigarette
That’s how long he loved me for
Yet my love was eternal like the wind
I rustled leaves for him
I joined hurricanes for him
And why should he remember?
Oh no. He’s moved on now
Lighting other passions
With scarves and gloves he shuts me out
Blurring my strong gusts with the smoke of cheaper fags
But where their smoke only suffocate his lungs
My love will be his sigh of relief
I will be his cool breeze in the summer
I will dry his tears of loss
And when finally he goes up in flames
Who will be there to carry his ashes
If not I?
The loyal wind that never faltered
The loving wind that he dismissed

2 comments on “The Wind

Leave a Reply

