En route, 2016

Honestly? I never thought I’d make it this far. 

If I survive the next 10 days, I will genuinely be so proud. 

I had a number of goals for 2015, some I achieved and others I will just have to try for next year. I didn’t learn to drive, or to speak German or even learn to tread water, but I did get a job, I did dye my hair blue and I did go to a live concert. 

But I think I achieved more than just that. I mean, I turned 20, which is more than 15 year old me ever believed I could. I graduated to 2nd year of uni. I have a boyfriend of nearly 6 months. I learnt how to rely on only myself for happiness, and how to block out unnecessary negativity. 

In 2016, it will be 6 years since my dad died. 4 years since I left secondary school, and 3 years since I started writing my novel. In 2016 I aim to focus more on my blog, and dedicate myself more to building my career, and getting used to reading novels in French. 2016 will be the year I travel more to places of my own choice, the year I buy a camera and the year that I read at least 60 books. 2016 will be the year, and I believe this because I’ve spent the last 20 years of my life figuring myself out and learning from all my mistakes, and now I  feel like I’m ready. I’ve gone over my notes, I’ve done my research, I know what to do. In 2016 I’m going to be 21. The next 10 days will be the mourning period for my childhood, and then, I’m ready to start living. 

Leave a Reply

